January Header

A new blog header for January, but continuing with December’s tree theme. This is also my picture for the first Illustration Friday topic for 2010. It is two (well, 1 and 2 half) twigs from a bottle brush tree at my parents’ house, tied with string and drawn with pen then coloured on the computer (while watching While You Were Sleeping). It has been rainy and warm and everything is growing wildly: the bottle brush as well as the mushrooms and the cane toads.

I’ve messed around with the colours a bit more in the next piece. I’ve been looking at a lot of older illustrations and quite like the effect of white/cream tinted illustrations, and the effects achieved with limited printing techniques.

Illustration Friday: Renewal

I hope you all had a wonderful New Year, and that you have a wonderful new year. I spent my New Year’s Eve with Deb, reading Trivial Pursuit questions until 2.30am. It was a 1981 edition, so it had questions like “what candy does the American president keep in a jar on his desk”, which I actually knew the answer to, although I couldn’t remember which of our prime ministers took him a top-up, and we had to adjust other clues for inflation. On New Year’s Day we went for a walk along the beach, and fish and chips, and visited her nephew. The other main activity of the weekend was reading A Study in Scarlet to my father.

And finally, I will start the usual round of year-in-review posts soon, but this is a round-up of all my Illustration Friday thumbnails for 2009:

2009 Illustration Friday Thumbnails

