Thursday, June 2nd, 2011


Illustration Friday: Asleep

So… the poppies from the Wizard of Oz. Pen and ink with colour and texture added on the computer. The dress is from the movie, but the shoes are the silver shoes from the original book.

Mari Ness on Tor.com did a fabulous series of posts rereading the original Oz books here: Oz.

In other news: I’ve put up my sketches from Sydney (Part 1 and Part 2), the Dalek Game is up to 8 comics, I am home with no voice (an unfamiliar sensation for me, although it did pass through a low, sultry stage which was quite attractive), I am working on projects, I’ve finished the first draft of a new story (working title: “Very Private Property”) and my mother made me watermelon jam for my birthday.

This is the second half of my Sydney sketches. The first half is here: What I did on my holidays – part 1

On Sunday morning, I sat outside a cafe near my hostel and drew a terrace house (turned hostel) across the street. The cafe owners asked me to do a mural based on it, but I explained I was leaving soon.

Page 06

I walked to the city, and updated Facebook and Twitter with this sketch – “The motto of all the mongoose family is ‘Run and find out!'”

I went to St Andrews Cathedral and St Phillips on Sunday. I love old hymns, but can’t get used to organ music – it sounds to me like a remixed traffic jam. I went to the Zine Fest at the MCA and drew hats.

I also went to a Zia Pina in the Rocks for calzone. I love Zia Pina because they serve lemonade in glass beer mugs. I am easily pleased.

Page 07

The next day, I drew outside the cafe which had asked me to do a mural. They gave me a permanent marker and I drew on their wall. We made arrangements involving coffee and pain au chocolat.

Oh, look! An actual photo of me:

After that, I walked to Newtown by degrees. Here is one of them:

It was sunny and windy. I walked and ate cinnamon waffles and shopped and tried on buttons for size (and was not subtle enough, as the button lady suggested that another variety would be a better size for a Coraline costume). I met Guan and Karen and Ben and Astrid again at Berkelouw Books in Newtown, then walked back across town to Berkelouws on Oxford Street, where I sat for a while to recover. Like this:


Then I went back to my dorm at the hostel for the last time, and gave possibly misguided advice to the Germans who wanted to know about the happening suburbs in Brisbane.

Page 08

On the last day I went into town again, and was chased by a sweeper in Hyde Park.

I stared at books and bought a pair of shoes (that’s two for the year! Another resolution to cross off the list!) and felt very decadent asking to have them delivered to my house. They have not yet arrived.

And that was the end of Sydney.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 321 other followers