The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Dalek

This instalment of the Dalek Game is for Douglas Adams’ The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy which has given me much good advice for life and is probably the reason I just now almost got buried by a pile of towels tipping out of the linen cupboard. I wish I could say I grew up with it, but we didn’t have television growing up and could only receive the local ABC radio station which played The 27th Annual African Hippopotamus Race (“Gosh!” said Edward) instead. My father taught me a lot of the Goon Show from memory, but Hitchhiker’s was missing from his repertoire, so I only met the books when I went to college.

John Martz on Picture Book Report did some beautiful Hitchhiker’s Guide illustrations. My favourite is here: It begins with a house.

Edited to add: Nodwick dot com points out this wonderful actual Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Daleks on YouTube.

