Welcome to February and a new header!

I have some posts lined up, including: January Book Reviews; January Movie Reviews; Status Report; Lessons I Learned from My Moleskine; and, Five Parties to Which I Would Like to Go.

For now, however, I point you to Illustration Friday, if you have not yet visited it. Some fascinating artists and illustrators participate and it is always worth checking out the entries. The project has become so popular it is difficult to keep up with all the entries, comment and maintain full-time employment, but I try to see (and comment on) a representative sample.

Here are some sites and pictures that caught my eye this week:

Paul Bommer has some quirky, folksy, funny, catchy posters for The Winter’s Tale – I really like his style, which has the feel of early 20th century European illustration. He uses lovely muted colours and haphazard textures with a lively line and, well, really superior bears.

Thierry Bedouet’s almost monochromatic Beast of Gevaudan falls somewhere between graphic modernism and… Amelia Bedelia. I find the beast quite terrifying, and the milkmaid’s expression delightful.

Mark Deutsch’s painting of a mother who turned her son into a monkey has some brilliantly caught expressions which tell the story as much as any other part of the picture. Also, the monkey in the school uniform makes me laugh.

Corcoise’s The Fireflies Keeper is a beautifully lit illustration painted in bleach on black paper. I would love to see a graphic novel done in this style and medium.

Steve Morrison has depicted a monolithic Kronos which could be both an illustration and a design element – I really like the way the image bends to the demands of the shape. I like his Excess illustration as well, its magnificently antlered deer seems to me less proposterous than solemn. I would also like a set of his playing cards, both because I really like the simple, charming style and because I want a set of cards I can colour in.

Abigail Halpin’s characters have still, beatific faces, and her snark-hunter meshes a Renaissance style with that of modern picture books.

And finally, Jeop Wolfe contributes a bear in an ill-fitting hat.