Fail

An illustration for an as-yet-unwritten article (or essay or… there are other possibilities for this) on the Chronicles of Narnia, tentatively titled “Did Susan Fail?” (or “Did Lewis Fail Susan?”). I’m not ready to give away my conclusions yet.

This picture takes up most of an A4 sheet and is much larger than I usually work. You can see it closer to the original size here.

It is pen and ink and about four hours work on the pencil and final. The pens were unipin Fine Lines, 0.1, 0.2, 0.3, 0.5 and 0.8. I had hoped to use my dip pen and new nibs on this, but convenience dictated the unipins.

Now I’m exhausted and my elbow hurts. If I had my time over, I would do a bit more research and put more symbolism in (I had vague plans for the design on the other side, but that will have to wait until an appropriate topic comes along). The research I did do was fun. One reason I like illustration is the research – it appeals to that part of me which likes to read the encyclopaedia.

Oh, and by way of comparison here is one of the thumbnail roughs for the picture, slightly larger than actual size:

Illustration Friday thumbnail

Comments and criticism are, as ever, welcome.