Illustration Friday: Worry

Worry

Another scratchboard image. On Saturday I finished reading Pride and Prejudice to my father (his choice) and we started Sense and Sensibility. The last third of P&P is so full of anxiously-awaited letters that it seemed an eligible choice for this week’s Illustration Friday topic: Worry.

Our edition has very handsome woodcut illustrations, so I tried to echo some of those techniques in this picture and while I couldn’t manage anything approaching the level of detail and control in those, I think it is a lot better than my first scratchboard attempt.

I used upholstery needles for scratching, cross-hatched the background and scraped away the excess with a pocket knife which was ideal.

I showed this to my father and he said, “Oh. A granny reading a newspaper.” So I can handle honest opinions.

14 thoughts on “Illustration Friday: Worry

  1. Oh, I do like this. Looks like an illustration, so you achieved your goal! I like the pose and composition, her hair and the grass.

  2. Thankyou Mary – there is some very lovely artwork in those books so it’s a high compliment.

    Thanks Aimee – the shadow on the grass is my favourite part.

    It is fun, Roberta, and a little tricky learning to think back-to-front, but my fingertips are still numb from the way I was holding the needles:)

  3. I have to say, the shadow is what caught my eye. I can’t decide whether its implied softness / realism clashes with the starkness and black/white contrast of the rest of the picture, or is just cool. A bit more neck would make the lass less granny-like :)

  4. Thanks Deb. Heheh. Next project.

    Thankyou Marci!

    Thanks, Dave and Cat. You caught me out! I’m still trying to work out this medium so I can’t guarantee the bottom part is in the same style as the top :)And you are, of course, right about the neck.

  5. Hello!

    I really like this scratchboard piece.
    I think you achieved a very nice shadow…
    and I really like the lace hem of her dress.
    Great job!

    And thanks so very much for your kind comment!

    Denise

  6. Curious Art – yes, I’d seen the book but was a little put off by the title. I had a look on the website and it looks… rather different to what I imagined, so I will check it out. Thanks!

    Thankyou, Denise – I’m glad you liked the lace hem, as I wasn’t sure if it had worked or was perhaps too bright!

  7. Pingback: Illustration Friday: Routine « Errantry

Leave a Reply

