Wind in My Hair, stars in my eyes… rain in my shoes

I’d forgotten the sky could hold this much water. I can’t use scratchboard because the ink is damp, I can only do enough laundry at a time to fill my little airing rack, my shoes and stockings have been soggy all day and the windows are buckling on the eighth floor. And it isn’t even warmer, which is the effect cloud cover is supposed to have, because if I go outside to appreciate it I will be drenched and windswept within minutes.

Also (and this may not be related to the weather) I am having difficulty with this week’s Illustration Friday topic, “Baby”, because everytime I brain storm I end up with something saccharine (not doing), horrible (fun, but not sure I should be doing), or something captionable with “Nobody puts Baby in a corner”.

While I dither about whether or not to go with murderous matryoshka dolls, here is last night’s work: the June header for this blog. It was a fast job, and I am still learning my way around Inkscape, but I like it (sans calligraphy), especially the background which is something I did up a few weeks ago when I was running with spangles and circus themes (the spangles came off the costume of an ill-fated human cannonball). The face is based on a picture of me (Self as Starlet on Flickr).

June blog header

I look a little like I should be sitting in an old-fashioned motor car. Or possibly just sitting in the road looking wistfully after one, like Toad of Toad Hall.

4 thoughts on “Wind in My Hair, stars in my eyes… rain in my shoes

  1. Hey – sympathy is about all we can offer – sitting in pretty England in the UK, we are suffering pretty much the same stuff. In fact some parts of the Country are flooding. An unusual occurrence here, but something that has happened increasingly over the past couple of years.
    Well, it’s not actually cold, so my consolation is that sitting indoors in the dry, I can watch the garden (back yard) grow. It is good for the plants.
    Beryl

  2. Well Kathleen,

    I have now discovered another joy that will tempt me away from doing the things I need to. Excellent blog. I really do hope you continue it as you travel.

    Tim

  3. That looks quite a lot like you.
    If you are willing to reveal your technique – are you making use of some kind of tablet to draw, or soldiering on with a mouse?

  4. Thanks Beryl – hope you all stay above water.

    Alas, Tim, I don’t know what internet access in Vanuatu is like. I will certainly update when I get back.

    Yes Dave, I use a tablet – a Wacom Graphire of some description. I enjoy using it and prefer it to a mouse generally, except that it is more annoying when you have to put it down and go to the keyboard. Drawing with a mouse has been compared to drawing with half a brick, but there are artists who do beautiful work with just that.

Leave a Reply

