Illustration Friday: Enough

Enough

Here with a Loaf of Bread beneath the Bough,
A Flask of Wine, a Book of Verse–and Thou
Beside me singing in the Wilderness–
And Wilderness is Paradise enow.

-Omar Khayyam

An illustration in photoshop, based on the poem and with reference to this page of my sketchbook. There was originally more colour in it but then I was messing around with my favourite texture (an page from a 100 year old magazine – also featuring in Electricity and Forgotten) and this happened, and I liked it.

Comments and critique are welcome and helpful.

I know that between Illustration Friday and Alice and general superheroics that it looks like I’ve been sidetracked, but I promise more Vanuatu tales and sketches soon!

6 thoughts on “Illustration Friday: Enough

  1. That is very effective; upon seeing your drawing I immediately thought of that Khayyam verse–before I had scrolled down to read the verse as you had posted it.

  2. How lovely!
    And I enjoyed seeing your sketchbook.
    I like peeking into other artists’ thought processes!

    Thanks for your very kind comment!

    Denise

  3. This is beautiful– I love the way the colors turned out.

    And, apologies for lowering the tone, but I can’t resist sharing the riddle my brother posed. “What are three things with yeast?”

    The answer, of course, is “A loaf of bread, a flask of wine, & thou!”

    Ouch.

Leave a Reply

