Similar

My illustration for this week’s Illustration Friday topic: Similar. It is a very small (unnecessarily tiny) scratchboard picture (the black border was added in Photoshop) and is a reference to Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland:

‘You should learn not to make personal remarks,’ Alice said with some severity; ‘it’s very rude.’
The Hatter opened his eyes very wide on hearing this; but all he said was, ‘Why is a raven like a writing-desk?’

I will put up my Christmas card design soon – I’ve started printing and posting them (Sunday afternoon, sweating in the enclosed veranda which serves as my annex/studio, getting all inky).

Oh, and I just got an assignment to do three short story illustrations! They will be black and white line drawings, so I may have to put the scratchboard aside for a few weeks. Maybe :)