Illustration Friday: Talisman

The model is me, in a series of awkward mobile phone photos patched together in a pencil sketch. I used my light box and drew a small line drawing in india ink with a dip pen (which I love only a little bit more than the light box), and did the lettering with the dip pen as well.

I scanned the ink work in and also the cover of a book by A R Hope titled Mr Dalton’s Prescription and other stories – no publication date but awarded to Norman Dellar by the Toowoomba Congregational Sabbath School in 1907. It has a lovely floral pattern on the spine, which is my main criteria for Lifeline Booksale purchases. The flowers and the texture are from the cover of the book.

Illustration Friday: Talisman

The floral border is also from Mr Dalton’s Prescription. Originally it was printed in green on blue cloth, but I painted up a separate layer in Photoshop and combined them as so. The lettering was also textured and coloured with the cloth of the book cover.
Illustration Friday: Talisman

Here is the first illustration filtered in Photoshop then layered back under the original ink drawing.

Comments and critiques are, as always, welcome.