Illustration Friday: Impossibility

Illustration Friday: Impossibility

“Impossibility” made me think of those poems of impossibilities, like “Scarborough Fair” and John Donne’s “Go and catch a falling star” (which is of course featured in both Diana Wynne Jones’ Howl’s Moving Castle and Neil Gaiman’s Stardust).

As usual, I modelled for myself, holding a desk lamp with a velvet shawl over it and balancing the camera on a box of sketchbooks. Then I did a pencil sketch and put clean (well, it was when I started) drawing paper over the sketch on the lightbox and drew it in black ink. I managed to shake the ink this time, but this ink gets thick and gluggy very quickly and started clogging and then blotting everywhere, so in the end I did some scratching back with a craft knife. Then scanned, cleaned up and colour/text added and bad jokes removed.

I kept the joke in the colour version, where I took the “falling star” and went sideways (there is a shop at South Bank in Brisbane that sells ‘sale’ signs, and it amuses me that it exists).

Illustration Friday: Impossibility (colour)

9 thoughts on “Illustration Friday: Impossibility

  1. This is simply GORGEOUS. It reminds me of Charles Vess’ illustrations. I can’t decide if I like the black and white or the coloured version better, because both are really lovely (though I agree it’s better without the sideways joke). More!

  2. Gypsy, anyone? Must be the hair and earrings and radiant centre-piece that could be swapped out for a crystal ball.
    I’m impressed by all the “lighting effects”, down to the highlights on the hair.
    Now if it was *me*, I would have put the *photo* on the light-box, traced over that, and botched it anyway :p

  3. Thanks Piper! I am glad – I always like reading other people’s.

    Thanks, Rowena and JRT.

    High praise, Aimee, but welcome if undeserved – I will see what I can do.

    Dave – just a little bit, but unintentional (the hair and earrings were the model’s own) :) Photos are actually really hard to trace on lightboxes, but the big trouble with them is that they are usually only of one part of the pose (especially when the model is also the photographer!) and it’s easier to frankenstein them together by sketching than by tracing.

Leave a Reply

