(Or biscuits, but I reserve the right to draw on the vocabulary of either side of the family).

Jason Nahrung is leaving Brisbane and, in an effort to avoid mopping the floor (I’ve bought a mop!), I made sugar cookies to take to his farewell party (slash garage sale – I came home with several pieces of furniture and an arrangement regarding two pews). These are iced with “good bye”, “bye”, “farewell”, “adieu”, “ade”, “aufwiedersehen” (that was difficult to fit on) and “good riddance”, among other things.

Farewell Sugar Cookies

One of the other things:

Vulcan Sugar Cookie

And last month I made these for a Christmas in July dinner: gingerbread dough rolled quite thin (I didn’t have a rolling pin at the time and had to use a short tumbler) so it baked in about 3 minutes, most iced with a star and a silver cachou in the middle but some left plain and iced with dark chocolate on the back:

Starry night cookies

I’m in Melbourne for Continuum 5, but will be back next week with sketches of the Ekka and, I hope, Melbourne.