‘Then here,’ said the old gentleman, ‘is a little manuscript, which I had hoped to have the pleasure of reading to you myself. I found it on the death of a friend of mine – a medical man, engaged in our County Lunatic Asylum – among a variety of papers, which I had the option of destroying or preserving, as I thought proper. I can hardly believe that the manuscript is genuine, though it certainly is not in my friend’s hand. However, whether it be the genuine production of a maniac or founded upon the ravings of some unhappy being (which I think more probable), read it, and judge for yourself.’[1]

Tor.com is having a Lovecraft month, including a Lovecraft art jam. My first Lovecraft was At the Mountains of Madness, set in Antarctica during Mawson’s second expedition, and pretty much finished off what was left of any urge I had to visit the Antarctic after I was exposed to This Accursed Land (from which I learned to fear crevasses, and that if you eat your huskies’ livers you will go mad and the soles of your feet will fall off). The highlight of the novel was, of course, the six-foot tall, albino, blind, cave-dwelling penguins which, as far as I recall, don’t do anything more overtly threatening than mill around in the dark, softly muttering “tekeli-li”. But still – six-foot penguins!

Accordingly, below is a quick and very rough sketch layout of yet another reason to fear crevasses.

Tekeleli

[1] Having no volumes of Lovecraft to hand, I had to make do with the nearest alternative. This excerpt is from Dickens’ The Pickwick Papers.