Illustration Friday: Expired

Illustration Friday: Expired

“My candle burns at both ends;
It will not last the night;
But ah, my foes, and oh, my friends-
It gives a lovely light!”

— Edna St. Vincent Millay

Life continues lively! I hope to have more illustrations and project reports up soon – I’m making a flying visit to Canberra this weekend and will be drawing thumbnail sketches on the plane.

Last month’s book reviews should be up soon, and I’ve discovered 1930s detective novels aren’t conducive to dealing maturely with deadlines. I’d already ruled out any books on WWII or aviation for the rest of the month, so now I have to strike out Christie, Heyer and Sayers as well. Which pretty much leaves me with Gothic short stories… as in, starting with Horace Walpole and working forward from there.

10 thoughts on “Illustration Friday: Expired

  1. Aimee

    Heheh. Good to know a book can still hold things up for you. Perhaps you are merely human after all… OTOH, you will still get all your project’s done, I’ll wager!

    I have started another Miles Vorkosigan book, ‘Memory’, by Bujold. Am a third of the way through, enjoying it but waiting for something to happen. Only one big thing has so far… no explosions or anything! What’s going on? :D

    Have fun in Canberra for me! Sketch the pretties so that I’ll know when I see them in the Louvre you’ve seen them and we can compare notes. :)

    1. tanaudel

      It was fascinating to see them close-to. Well, close-ish too. There was a bit of elbowing and gallery-rage going on.

  2. LisaMac

    Is the second candle and the poem autobiographical? You do rather seem to be the both-ends-burning person at the monent.
    And, since you mentioned traveling, when are you going to come to visit me in Adelaide? … no. wait. Scratch that, I’ll visit you since you are obviosly too busy. How does next week sound to you?

Leave a Reply

