Morning sketches

Girl with coffee

In the mornings, I often stop for coffee at the ANZAC Square Arcade before work, and sketch the passers-by and the regulars. It’s fast work – most of the subjects are on their way from the station to their office.

Page 16

Often it’s just a matter of trying to catch the angle of a face, or a pose, or a hairstyle, or a striking scarf. You can see the season changing through these pages and the ones to come.

Page 17

You can see a larger version of the pages by clicking on the picture and then – when that takes you to its Flickr page – clicking on “all sizes”. The sketches are very small. The sketchbook itself is only a moleskine pocket sketchbook: 14cm (5 1/2 inches) high.

Woman with bag

The rest of this sketchbook (so far) is here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/tanaudel/sets/72157622648780102/

3 thoughts on “Morning sketches

  1. :)

    Looks like London at the moment. Tights or stockings with ballet flats, scarves and such.

    I really do like your sketches from life. You capture detail so quickly! Do you colour later?

    I like drawing them too: people can’t tell when it doesn’t really look like the thing you were drawing (I’m sure yours mostly do).

  2. I secretly love people watching. I guess you are doing it not-so-secretly. Good on you. If only I could draw. HA! I’m off to take a closer look, followed by defining each person’s personality and personal history.

  3. Thanks, Aimee and Kelly. I don’t think most people notice – certainly not these ones, who were hurrying through on their way to work. I almost always colour as I go.

Leave a Reply

