Illustration Friday: Diary

Illustration Friday: Diary

This is a pen and ink illustration for one of my favourite opening lines: “I write this sitting in the kitchen sink”, from Dodie Smith’s I Capture the Castle. I did a quick colour version as well:

Illustration Friday: Diary

This second illustration is a special request from Deb, with whom I spent a very pleasant afternoon yesterday, eating cupcakes and macarons and buying vintage tablecloths and old Tupperware:

Illustration Friday: Diary

18 thoughts on “Illustration Friday: Diary

  1. Yes, tell us what is behind the request. She’s a character, but has she been written yet?

    I love these, by the way.

  2. Unsurprisingly, I love the sink one. The hair and fingers especially, but the shadows as well. I like the color one better, m’self. The second illustration does definitely look like a character, and I hope Deb makes one out of her!

  3. OK, now, that character sketch at the behest of Deb – well, that looks to me like an angel gone Goth. That has rather unsettling theological implications…

  4. Pingback: I Capture the Dalek « Errantry

Leave a Reply

