August Header: Boomerang

I think she was French. A young man was trying to teach her to throw a boomerang in the City Botanic Gardens. Fortunately for me they were dedicated, if not skilled. I enjoy drawing people in somewhat repetitive motions – they don’t look as bored as train passengers and you get some lovely poses as people dance around public squares, or attempt to concuss themselves in parks.

I took these out of my sketchbook (I will upload the page eventually) and edited them into sequence for the new August header for the blog.

In other news, I have less original art than I thought for Worldcon. It is mostly partly drawn, then scanned, and then experimented upon. This will be a lesson to me to make clean line art so that I don’t have to cut the matting board very precisely around the more peculiar sketches in the margins.