Illustration Friday: Prehistoric

In this picture I was working on fur textures in scratchboard, and on colouring it with watercolour pencils (instead of digitally). It is the usual small-scale piece (3 x 8.5cm). If I were to do it again I would put heavy black outlines around parts of the picture (arms and legs and so forth) rather than simply running them into the background.

In other news, for those who like to keep tabs: I am working on a few illustration jobs. I have one week left at work. I am onto the second branch on my advent calendar. I have received my first Christmas card. I have to wear a shiny red hat to a Christmas party tomorrow night. We have seen sunlight and real stars over the last 48 hours! My umbrella is no longer waterproof. My wallet is held closed with elastic bands. I am slowly savouring my way through a new and beautiful edition of Wendy Cope’s poetry. I don’t have Christmas cards yet. The jury is still out on whether ibises are appropriately festive.