Illustration Friday: Sweater

This week I am trying out styles and techniques for some ongoing projects, which include some full-page black and white illustrations – usually I do little vignettes that sit in the middle of the page. It refers pretty heavily to art nouveau portraits and Japanese woodblock prints, which styles (as well as being related) are connected to two of the stories.

The original drawing is in dip-pen and ink, with ink washes. The coloured versions were messed with in Photoshop – I applied a filter and mixed a layer of flat colours in different ways.

In other news: the new job is going well, I have taken two dance classes, I’ve sold a short story about which I am very happy (it’s called “Undine Love” and I am fond of it), I’ve finished the first draft of the story that features in this month’s header image (not much resemblance between the two now, however) and I’m using my flex-time by having coffees and lunches with everyone in sight, so if you too like to have caffeine in company and know how to find me, please do!