The Six Daleks of Henry VIII

The Six Daleks of Henry VIII

This is the fourteenth installment in the Dalek Game and is for Alison Weir’s The Six Wives of Henry VIII, which has been on my bookcase for a very long time, and which I keep overlooking in favour of histories of early Australian aviation, but is meant to be very good.

Also, if you want to remember the order of the fates of Henry’s wives, it’s “divorced, beheaded, died, divorced, beheaded, survived”, but I can never recall the order of their names.

It’s because of Flanders & Swann that I remember Greenfleeves (funny name for a fong) is attributed to Henry (“We are Henry the Eighth, we are”).

10 thoughts on “The Six Daleks of Henry VIII

    • I was thinking the same thing – the depiction of “Henry” is really good. These installments of “The Dalek Game” are ALL entertaining!

      • Thank you both – I’m glad you like him. He was fun to draw. I need to find an excuse to draw more. Maybe a Henry VIII game when I run out of Daleks :)

  1. My sister mentioned this, and said it was absorbing. She didn’t mention that I’d be as absorbed in your words as in your drawings. And hey! Flanders and Swann!

  2. Enjoying digging through the Dalek Game very much! But can’t help myself here:

    First names were almost ‘symmetrical’:

    Catherine
    Anne
    Jane
    Anne
    Catherine
    Catherine

    (except some of the Catherines may have been Katherines but hey, spelling wasn’t standardised then)

    also their ‘surnames’ were alphabetical among the Catherines (A-H-P) and among the Annes (B-C)

    i.e. 1 was Catherine of Aragon
    5 was Catherine Howard
    6 was Catherine Parr

    2 was Anne Boleyn
    4 was Anne of Cleves

    in fact, take it a stage further and the only surname not in alphabetical order was Jane Seymour. Also the name of a current actress!

    I think the divorces were actually annulments, and at least one wife was both annulled and then beheaded. Possibly. I’m not a historian. :)

Leave a Reply

