Illustration Friday: Gesture

Illustration Friday: Gesture

Pen and ink drawing with colour and texture added digitally. The textures are from old books. The skirt is loosely based on one of mine, but I like this print more!

And look! Natalie has made an embroidery based on one of my drawings! I think it looks amazing.

"I write this sitting in the kitchen sink."

In other news: Illustrations, cover art, stories, tattoo designs and a hooded scarf are all in the works. The scarf may be ready by next winter.

5 thoughts on “Illustration Friday: Gesture

  1. Oh. I really liked the magic girl in that skirt as a sketch. Now she is absolutely AMAZING! I love it, love, love, love it. And that embroidery is just charming.

  2. Ditto to the above. But what also struck me about the magic girl is the interesting perspective. We’re looking at her as if we, the viewers, are on the first floor looking down at her on ground level. Is that part of the design?

    I also love the way her star-clicking fingers and her face are in the light, as well as a section of her beautiful skirt. Which follows that the shaded areas are quite interesting and suggestive.

    • Thank you Rita – I am glad it worked, and thank you for your thoughts on it! The original sketch grew fairly organically, so I didn’t think it through to that extent in advance.

  3. Pingback: I Capture the Dalek « Errantry

Leave a Reply

