Daleks can jump puddles

Daleks can jump puddles

This instalment of the Dalek Game is for Alan Marshall‘s autobiography, the Australian classic I Can Jump Puddles. I absorbed it at some point during my childhood (along with others such as Colin Thiele’s gorgeous Sun on the Stubble and A. B. Facey’s harrowing A Fortunate Life) and need to read it again – particularly now after a little more knowledge of the history of polio and its treatment from (among other things) the lives of family friends, a fascinating chapter in Le Fanu’s Rise and Fall of Modern Medicine and of course (since everything comes back to Australian aviators!) the Flying Nurse, by and about Robin Miller.

This has been your Australian literature update for the week. Please, carry on.

 

8 thoughts on “Daleks can jump puddles

  1. I can remember studying ‘I Can Jump Puddles’ at school – but a quick question to my children has revealed that neither child has ever heard of this book. I must hunt down a copy, as I remember it with great fondness (after all, there were horses in it).

  2. Pingback: Three Things | PeterMBall.com

  3. Pingback: Three Things | Man Versus Bear

Leave a Reply

