Dalek of the Apes.

This instalment of the Dalek Game is for Edgar Rice Burroughs’ Tarzan of the Apes. It is not a very wonderful ape, but few of the cover apes are – this one is my favourite. This silhouetted cover, however, is lovely. Also, see the Picture Book Report for Andrea Kalfas beautiful Tarzan illustrations.

I never read Tarzan growing up, which was an oversight on the part of my parents. My mother did sometimes dance around the kitchen singing the theme to George of the Jungle and Ray you-will-regret-watching-the-video Stevens’ “Gitarzan” (“Shut up, baby, I’m tryin’ to sing!”), so my childhood wasn’t completely deprived.

In other news: I have also posted some playing card portraits for a sketchbook exchange and two speechless fairytale heroines for Illustration Friday. I made pumpkin pie today. And… oh, right. It’s November. I spend most of it looking like this.