Illustration Friday: VanityThis is in pen and ink, with colours in watercolour. The original is quite small (2.5×3 inches).

Whether the moral of the story is vanity, or gullibility, or the perspicaciousness of children, I have always had a soft spot for the Emperor in “The Emperor’s New Clothes”. He, like so many others, must have pictured wonderful things of that unseeable suit of clothes, only to have all their imaginings snatched away by a sharp remark.

Had I the heavens’ embroidered cloths,
Enwrought with the golden and silver light,

The blue and the dim and the dark cloths

Of night and light and half-light,

I would spread the cloths under your feet

But I, being poor, have only my dreams;

I have spread my dreams beneath your feet;
Tread softly because you tread on my dreams…

“He Wishes for the Cloths of Heaven” – William Butler Yeats