Gumnut Daleks

This instalment of the Dalek Game is for May Gibbs’ Gumnut Babies. My mother still gives me Gibbs books occasionally – and for Christmas this year Aimee gave me the Holden and Brummitt biography May Gibbs: More than a Fairy Tale. I had never seen any of May Gibbs’ other paintings before. Her portraiture was luminous and her documentary sketches funny and charming. I am inclined to like her very much more now (Gibbs that is – well, Aimee too, as it is a very lovely book and my esteem can be bought).

In other news: My head is full of stories. Last night for the twelfth night of Christmas five of us gathered, told stories, read selections of ballads, talked and ate. Today, it has been all friends and writers and editors, illustration and editing discussions, enormous bowls of coffee and frankensteining fairytales in the Three Monkeys cafe. Also blisters, but one must suffer for one’s art. Thank you (in order of appearance) Tehani, Alex, Grace, Shirley, Aimee, Mara, Jane, SharonNicky, Damon and Robert! The house still smells of candles.