The Velveteen Dalek

This instalment of the Dalek Game is for Margery Williams’ The Velveteen Rabbit (or How Toys Become Real), illustrated by William Nicholson, a book which inspired me with a terror of getting scarlet fever in case all my books had to be burned. I don’t recall that we owned it, but I do remember the lingering alarm.

I… would sort of like to have this Dalek (do you know I own no 3-dimensional Daleks?! I do have a sonic screwdriver torch which I received at an office gift exchange one year, and friends gave me a not-a-TARDIS-retr0-blue-police-b0x lamp this Christmas).

In other news: It is a year yesterday since the flash-flooding in Toowoomba and the Lockyer Valley, and a year today since the floods reached Brisbane – I’ve been looking back over my diary and sketches. There are still houses being repaired and elevated on stilts at the bottom of my street, still dark buildings at night. Sometimes when I walk by a Queenslander house, I can smell a breath of flood coming out of the cool dark spaces underneath. Last week I finally replaced my sneakers, so the house no longer smells of flood whenever they get wet (it’s all about the shoes).

Also,  I put up an illustration I gave to a friend: Treed.