Saint George and the Dalek

This instalment of the Dalek Game is primarily for Margaret Hodges’ retelling of Saint George and the Dragon, adapted from Spenser’s The Faerie Queen and beautifully illustrated by Trina Schart Hyman. The illustrations aren’t necessarily what I would have first asked for, for such a story (probably I expected something more formally illuminated, or cool and noble) but they are very lovely and warm and good-hearted and I rapidly grew to love them. I used to read this book out loud to my first nephew frequently when he was little, on repeated request. It does, after all, have knights and dragons, yet I am still surprised that he sat through the whole of it every time because it is, after all, adapted from a 16th century poem and is, for a picture book, exceptionally dense and poetical.