Daleks of the Wiener Werkstaette

This instalment of the Dalek Game is for one of my favourite purchases from last year: a great big book of Postcards of the Wiener Werkstaette (Wiener Werkstaette = Vienna Workshops). So many pictures! And so many styles and colours, all beautifully graphic, and it’s the graphic, simple, bold elements of the Arts and Crafts movement which appeal to me: I’m more of an art deco fan than art nouveau, although the art nouveau lines are very pleasing to draw. I have not analysed why this is. When I go to galleries and exhibitions, I can admire and envy the skill of highly illustrative examples of realism, but the pictures I want to hang on my own wall are usually great big fearless abstracts about which I have no technical understanding whatsoever. Maybe that’s why.