Illustration Friday: Yield

Illustration Friday: Yield

This was a test of new ink (happy), paper (pretty happy) and nib (much larger and less yielding than I’m used to). The texture was added digitally but is part of one I made with ink and coffee last year. The illustration is for A. E. Housman’s poem, “God’s Acre“:

This hopeless garden that they sow
With the seeds that never grow…

Evidently I once knew Housman’s poems very well – I was certain this was from A Shropshire Lad, but it’s from a much later (manuscript?) collection, all of which are still very familiar too me. Often bleak, sometimes spoilers for Sayer’s novels, but also beautiful. Not my first Housman illustration, either.

Bonus weeping angel, of course, but no Dalek this time.

12 thoughts on “Illustration Friday: Yield

  1. And I thought it was y new eyesight making the dalek invisible. Unless… the dalek *is* invisible. (Have you done an HG Wells “The Invisible Dalek” yet?)

    For some reason I can’t help thinking that Icarus was the son of Dedalek, a very great dalek inventor. And on that note I ought to do some work, before I get myself into trouble.

  2. This is such a beautiful drawing. I love how you were inspired by the poem. This is my first time to your site and clearly see a lot of exploring I must do. I’m especially drawn to your sketchbook page – what a fantastic idea full of such wonderful characters and moments.

Leave a Reply

