A Game of Daleks

A Game of Daleks

This instalment of the Dalek Game is, of course, for George R. R. Martin’s A Game of Thrones. I had planned to draw a Game of Thrones Dalek for a while now, and had planned a chess image. Then a few weeks ago I read Georgette Heyer’s Cousin Kate, in which the heroine learns to play Fox and Geese (not a key plot point). The name reminded me of the recording of  J.R.R. Tolkien singing Sam Gamgee’s song about the trolls to the tune of “Fox went out on a chilly night”, but I am always willing to be reminded of that. I had, however, forgotten the game altogether.

It is, I grant you, not the most memorable of games (especially if you prefer parlour games to board games anyway, as I do), but it is one which appears to lend itself well to many varieties of handicraft, and therefore features frequently in craft books, woodworking books, self-sufficiency handbooks and so forth (a brief summary of my childhood there). I remember my mother made us a set in orange and white polymer clays.

In other news: You may notice the April blog header, which is a snippet of the cover of To Spin a Darker Stair, the new book now available from Fablecroft Press. It features 2 stories, one by Catherynne M. Valente and the other by Faith Mudge, with illustrations by me. I’ll post more detail of the art soon.

15 thoughts on “A Game of Daleks

  1. Pingback: The Dalek Game « Errantry

  2. I’ve always thought that game was a version of Chinese checkers. It looks like I was wrong.

    I adore the book cover. You do the most graceful trees.

  3. Lovely cover – and the book is one I covet for many reasons. When I have money for books…

    The question with The Game of Daleks is whether we cry when Sean-Dalek dies.

  4. I think that certain places in that series (the Iron Islands, or some of the cities on Slaver’s Bay, for example) would be greatly improved by an invasion of Daleks.
    A great illustration as usual. :D

  5. Stunning illustrations! Again you take Daleks to new heights, and that book cover is splendid. Lovely, lovely work!

  6. Pingback: Right-Before-The-Deadline-Hugo-Nominations | Culturally Disoriented

Leave a Reply

