Tor.com has revealed Yuko Shimizu’s cover art and process for the forthcoming Candlewick anthology, edited by Kelly Link and Gavin Grant, Monstrous Affections: An Anthology of Beastly Tales.

Yuko Shimizu - cover for Monstrous Affections

Yuko Shimizu – cover for Monstrous Affections

The table of contents is as follows (I think the Joshua Lewis title is now one of my favourite titles-which-could-exist-alone-as-stories, on a par with Charles de Lint’s “The Moon is Drowning While I Sleep”).

 This anthology is a follow-up to  Steampunk: An Anthology of Fantastically Rich and Strange Stories and my contribution is, again, a comic (written and illustrated by me).
I’ve gone for a looser style with this one, a style I’m more comfortable and happier with (quite apart from everything I’ve learned  since the first time around!). For a sneak peak here is the original title (subsequently rearranged) from the first page:
Small Wild Magic
And by way of comparison, here is Gwen from “Finishing School” (planning how to get her own way) on the left, and Marilyn from “A Small Wild Magic” (objecting to not getting her own way) on the right.
Gwen vs Marilyn