Some exciting news!

I’ve been fortunate enough to receive funding from the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland, part of the Department of Science, Information Technology, Innovation and the Arts, towards attending the World Fantasy Convention in Arlington, VA this November, as part of my development as an illustrator. Angela Slatter and I are working on a graphic reworking of the title story of her collection Sourdough (to which her newest collection, The Bitterwood Bible, is the prequel), and I’m also putting together some work for the art show, so… it will be a busy few weeks (eek) leading up to the trip. I’m hoping to spend some time in New York and Massachusetts either side of the convention.

I also found out that I’m going to the Creative3 forum this month, sponsored by Redchip Lawyers, in my capacity as a creative business-person, and also hoping to bring some ideas back to my involvement with the Queensland Writers Centre. It’s two days of entrepreneurs and business people talking about creativity, enterprise and investment, all things I am endeavouring to think about more.

And also I finally booked for a steam-train ride up to Toowoomba for the Carnival of Flowers, something I’ve been wishing to do for several years. The little cardboard tickets arrived today.