Sense and Sensibility - work in progress

I have a new design out for Litographs! This time, it is for Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility. I thoroughly enjoyed sketching up the thumbnails for this. I love how gentle the contrast between the sisters is in this novel (as compared to, for example, Pride and Prejudice). Neither course of action is only fraught with danger or guaranteed to bring happiness. And Edward is just so decent and nice. And also I hope Margaret grew up to be an explorer.

Sense and Sensibility - sketches

 

Here is the cut-out design. I’m glad Litographs went with this one – it is very easy to concentrate on just Marianne and Elinor, but they are almost the median point of the story. Everyone else takes sense and sensibility to greater extremes: Mrs Dashwood, who can’t grasp the idea of economy, Mrs John Dashwood who grasps it too well (the gradual bargaining-down of her husband’s proposed generosity is just awful and masterful). Willoughby, who feels too much. Edward and Colonel Brandon who are similarly governed by good sense, but with rather different impacts on the people they love. Margaret who is marvellous. Anyway, back to the art.

Sense and Sensibility - final silhouette

The clouds would not be in the final (I would invert the birds), but I like to keep the pieces together where possible, to create a single picture, in case someone would like to frame it.

And here is the design on a tote. It also comes as a poster and a t-shirt, and in different colourways.

Sense and Sensibility - Litographs

Please buy lots. I don’t get a cut, but I do have a wish list of classics I’d like to illustrate, so if you buy these they might get me to do some more.