FestiveDalek

I’m not going back to the office after the Christmas holidays.

I have taken a leave of absence from The Day Job ™ and will be spending 2016:

  • not being a lawyer;
  • undertaking an MPhil in creative writing (the illustrated variety); and
  • illustrating and writing.

The finer detail of that is still being resolved.

I’m still a little startled this has happened at all, let alone so soon. It was a distant possibility six months ago, a concrete chance three months ago, a reality two weeks ago.

It would be nice to write up a little piece on how it came about, and the work and privilege (mine and others’) which have contributed, but I’m not sure yet how to phrase any of that in a way that is useful rather than obnoxious. In the meantime, I recommend David McDonald’s series of guest posts about Paying For Our Passion, and Peter Ball’s post Let’s Be Clear, There’s Privilege Behind My Process.