Alexandria Neonakis is the first member of Light Grey Art Lab‘s 2016 Iceland Residency: Team Mist to volunteer to be introduced!

Alexandria Neonakis

Alexandria Neonakis

K: What lights you up about what you do?

Alexandria: I love it when something accidental happens in a piece that really helps with whatever narrative i’m trying to get across. When it happens, it feels like everything’s clicking nicely into place.

K: Do you have an example? 

Alexandria: This isn’t necessarily my favorite image but the light cutting across the top left and not appearing anywhere else was an accident. I had initially had a bit of light towards the bottom of the image as well, but some layers got turned off and I felt it just sold the story so much better. It also felt like a much bolder choice than my original intention.

Alexandria Neonakis: Weasley Wizard Wheezes

Alexandria Neonakis: Weasley Wizard Wheezes

I also was painting the “extendable ears” sign onto the wall when i came up with the idea that his missing ear wouldn’t have been magically replaced, he probably wears an extendable ear so as not to scare kids who come into the store. then when they ask him a question, he can pull the ear towards them and ask them to speak up.

I really love fleshing out these off-screen moments in a well know story, particularly with Harry Potter which has been a huge influence on me for most of my life. I know fan art gets a lot of flack, but I feel there’s a real place for it, and it’s often a nice gateway for people to start exploring their own narratives. It certainly has been for me.

K: Where can we find you?

Alexandria: My tumblr is alexneonakis.tumblr.com  and my website is alexneonakis.com :)