Photos from Twitter etc - part 1

Photos from Twitter etc – part 1

  • It took the slow boat, but my copy of The Year’s Best Science Fiction and Fantasy 2015 has arrived, with my story “Skull and Hyssop“! Almost like I’m a writer or something.
  • I had cause to quote Douglas Stewart’s gentle poem “B Flat”, and it remains a favourite:
    “Sing softly, Muse, the Reverend Henry White
    Who floats through time as lightly as a feather
    Yet left one solitary gleam of light
    Because he was the Selbourne naturalist’s brother…”
  • I’ve bought my membership for this year’s Readercon in Quincy, Massachusetts!
  • Terns of Reference

  • On Thursday I was the Event Illustrator (with a media pass and everything) for Elizabeth Gilbert’s event for the Brisbane Writers Festival’s year-round program, and it was great fun. Some photos in poor light are in a Facebook album – I’ll put up better photos after BWF has the chance to do so. I’ve been reading Big Magic, one of the more practically mystical works on creativity I’ve read:
    “Keep in mind that for most of history people just made things, and they didn’t make such a big freaking deal out of it.” -Elizabeth Gilbert
  • Watching Ep. 4 of Supergirl and was struck by the fact the ONLY conversation between men (which I could remember) was in a flashback interruption where one was sacrificing himself for a child. It was quite subtly done, and I don’t usually track this but one of the jarring notes in Deadpool was how (occasionally awkwardly) it did the exact opposite, so it was on my mind.
  • It was a weekend for pastiches on Twitter:
    27/2/2016:
    “I must arise and draw now, and sketch a book or three,
    And several covers lay out, of rough lead pencil made.
    Three commissions I will lay out, and perhaps a birthday card,
    And sharpen my paper-cutting blade.

    And I shall Get Things Done then, for things happen very slow
    When I lie abed in the morning tweeting pastiches of Yeats
    And realising it is of cardinal import to go online and check right now
    Whether his name rhymes with greets or gates.

    I will arise and draw now for always night and day
    I hear deadlines tapping with increasing intensity at my door.
    Whether I lie on top of the doona or put the pillows over my head,
    I hear it in the deep heart’s core.

    28/2/2016:
    “Yes I want to draw a picture,
    Or take my bike up to the store,
    But instead I have to spend the day driving around to buy a Macbook cord!”

 

Photos from Twitter etc - part 2

Photos from Twitter etc – part 2