Lana Crooks

Lana Crooks

Lana Crooks is the fifth member of Light Grey Art Lab‘s 2016 Iceland Residency: Team Mist to volunteer to be introduced. Previous interviews are all linked on this post: Iceland.

K: What lights you up about what you do?

Lana: I enjoy trying to figure out shapes and patterns and new way to build forms. I spend a lot of time researching so it makes me feel like I am unwrapping mysteries. I started out as an illustrator so I still like to bring some narrative into the works as well.

K: Do you have an example?

Lana: Snake oil was a piece for an exhibit called Zealots Elixir at Modern Eden, It was my first attempt at a snake skeleton. Each vertebrae is 7 individual pieces of fabric so it is a pretty good example of translating the flat to the 3D.

 

Snake Oil by Lana Crooks

Snake Oil by Lana Crooks

 

Snake Oil by Lana Crooks

Snake Oil by Lana Crooks

K: And where can we find you online?

Lana: I am at www.lanacrooks.com and @lanacrooks on Instagram