tre_s2_carousel_web_horz_1600x800_s2-1024x512

Here is the cover art for the next two episodes of Season 2 of Serial Box’s serialised prequel to Ellen Kushner’s Riverside novels, Tremontaine!

Earlier posts:

I still have a soft spot for thumbnail D, with Rafe and Kaab rolling drunkenly through the streets.

Tremontaine S2 E7 - thumbnails

The image we chose was that of the game of strategy – Shesh, not quite chess. It is always enormous fun devising glimpsed bits of games.

Tremontaine S2 E7 - pencil

Although the border was quite fiddly to cut out!

Tremontaine S2 E7 - final cover

Apparently I was going through a phase of wanting to draw brawls. It would still have been fun! There were a lot of nuances and connections to earlier (and Season 1) episodes, so more thumbnails than usual.

Tremontaine S2 E8 - thumbnails

We settled with the bird, which I promptly realised would not be as simple to cut out as it seemed at the time! It was definitely one of those situations in which one begins to appreciate Peter de Sève’s statement that “An artist’s drawing is a catalog of the shapes that he loves. When I’m drawing something, I’m trying to find the shapes that please me. I believe that’s what makes up what people refer to as a style”.

Tremontaine S2 E8 - pencil

And I am very happy with it! I love those swirls around the bird (as with the other covers, it was all cut as one silhouette and areas selected for recolouring after it was scanned in). It obviously owes a lot to the “whiplash” of Art Nouveau style.

Tremontaine S2 E8 - final cover

And remember, you can see behind-the-scenes peaks of future art if you become a patreon through Patreon.

